Sunday 15th January 2012

Posted: January 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

Ultra Running in the Surrey Hills – 34.5 miles in 5 hrs 37 minutes

Last Sunday I ran 44 miles so going out again the following weekend was a big ask with still recovering legs but I wanted to make the most of the incredibly dry & warm weather the UK is having this month. January is usually bitterly cold & snowy here but temperatures and rainfall level  have been the highest & lowest on record.

So I decided that a shorter version of the previous weekends route would be best, I’m known for pushing myself to ridiculous distances but today I was sensible for a change.

My friend Alexis joined me today who is raising money this year for various charities by running 2012 miles in 2012 (twitter – @2012in2012). Alex had been racing the previous day so didn’t want to run too far, I said it would only be about 15 miles & he was cool with that. When we got back we’d run 23 miles and was his longest run to date – did I feel guilty? Maybe, but maybe not – I added some extra miles to his counter after all.

You can check out my complete route here….

http://www.brytonsport.com/mapTrackView/2?id=270803

Leave a Reply

